Skip to main content

Board and Founder

Board of Directors

Henry J. Aaron

Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

Former Director of the Brookings Economic Studies Program; former Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation at the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare (Carter Administration)

Mayra E. Alvarez

President, The Children’s Partnership

Former Director of the State Exchange Group for the Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS); former Associate Director for the HHS Office of Minority Health and former Director of Public Health Policy in the Office of Health Reform at HHS

Kenneth Apfel, Chair

Professor of Practice, University of Maryland School of Public Policy

Former Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (Clinton Administration); former Associate Director of the Office of Management and Budget; former Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs, University of Texas

Maria Cancian

Dean, McCourt School of Public Policy at Georgetown University

Former Associate Dean for Social Sciences and Fiscal Initiatives and Former Director of the Institute for Research on Poverty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison; Former Senior Advisor to the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS), and Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy for the HHS Administration for Children and Families

Henry A. Coleman

Professor Emeritus, Rutgers University

Former Director, Rutgers Center for Government Services

David de Ferranti

Director, International Initiative for Impact Evaluation (3ie), Washington Office

Board Chair, Results for Development (R4D); former World Bank Vice President for Latin American and Caribbean Region; former Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution; former Associate Administrator, Food and Nutrition Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture (Carter Administration)

James Jimenez

Adjunct Faculty Member, New Mexico Highlands University School of Social Work and University of New Mexico School of Public Administration

Executive Director of the New Mexico Pediatric Society; Executive Director of the NMVC Action Fund; Former Executive Director of New Mexico Voices for Children

Wayne Jordan

Co-Founder and Secretary-Treasurer, Akonadi Foundation

Founder, Jordan Real Estate Investments (Oakland, CA); member of the boards of the ACLU Investment Committee, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington, Color of Change, and Rock the Vote

C. Lynn McNair

President, Windward Fund

Former Chief Advancement Officer, Georgetown Day School; former Vice President of Philanthropic Partnerships, Alliance for Excellent Education; former Senior Director, Philanthropy & Partnerships, The Internet Society

Ai-jen Poo

President of the National Domestic Workers Alliance and Executive Director of Caring Across Generations

Co-Founder of SuperMajority; Author of The Age of Dignity: Preparing for the Elder Boom in a Changing America; Co-Host of the podcast Sunstorm, Trustee of the Ford Foundation

Robert D. Reischauer

President Emeritus and Distinguished Institute Fellow, Urban Institute

Former Director, Congressional Budget Office; former trustee of the Social Security and Medicare Trust Funds

Kim Wallace

Senior Managing Director, 22V Research

Former Assistant Secretary of Legislative Affairs for the Department of Treasury (Obama Administration); former Senior Analyst for the Senate Budget Committee

Founder and President Emeritus

Emeritus Board Members

Marian Wright Edelman

Children's Defense Fund